skip to main content

2015 Te Matatini National Kapa Haka Festival

Te Whānau a Apanui Crowned Champions of 2015

Te Kapa Haka o Te Whānau a Apanui from the Mataatua – Eastern Bay of Plenty region were judged outright winners of 2015 Te Matatini National Kapa Haka Festival which took place in Christchurch from 5 to 8 March.

The bi-annual event organised by Te Matatini is the largest Maori performing arts festival in the world.

45 groups performed at the Festival with nine teams making it to the finals on 8 March.

In front of a packed out crowd of 8000, Te Kapa Haka o te Whānau a Apanui wowed the audience with their stunning performance, and execution of Māori performing arts. Their overall aggregate points (Te Toa Whakaihuwaka) earned Te Kapa Haka o Te Whānau a Apanui the Duncan McIntyre Trophy.

Two groups received second place Te Mātārae i Ōrehu from Te Arawa, Rotorua and Ōpōtiki Mai Tawhiti region from Mataatua – Eastern Bay of Plenty region.

He Ngākau Aroha – A Loving Heart was the theme of the Festival expressing the appreciation of all those involved in the Festival who have supported Christchurch and its recovery after the earthquake.

The groups competed in seven compulsory disciplines including Whakeke (entry); Mōteatea (traditional chant); Waiata-a-ringa (action song); Poi; Haka; Whakawātea (exit) and Te Reo (language).

An estimated 30,000 locals and visitors to Christchurch attended the festival. Visitors included those from the United States, United Kingdom, Germany, China, Malaysia, Pacific Islands, Holland, Belgium and French Polynesia.

More than 1800 performers, 1200 workers and 400 volunteers supported the Festival which was hosted by Waitaha Cultural Council, Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu and the Christchurch City Council.

The next Festival host will be the Tākitumu – Hawkes Bay region this will be held in 2017.

See the full list of Te Matini's official results here

Read DANZ Magazine Article: The Evolution of Kapa Haka

Read DANZ Magazine Article: Kapa Haka's Rich and Developing Cultural Fabric

Te Kapa Haka o Te Whanau a Apanui - 2015 Te Matatini Champions

+ Text Size -